Tonevender Mailorder - 14 E University Ave. #206 / Gainesville, FL / 32601

item view

"Between 1974 and 1975, a group of black American musicians from Long Island, New York recorded two albums while living in Paris under the name The Lafayette Afro Rock Band. They have attained legendary underground status as potent slices of Motherland-fortified funk-jazz. Though the LPs sold a mere 5,000-10,000 copies upon their release, key tracks have been sampled by rap stars from LL Cool J to Jay Z, blazing fresh interest in the mysterious septet. The band began in 1971 as Bobby Boy Congress. Sensing a saturation level of funk bands in the U.S., they figured they might have a better chance of breaking through in the European market. When success did not present itself fast enough, lead singer Bobby Boy returned home and was later replaced by Arthur Young. In the interim, two important things happened. First, the band settled in Paris' 80% African Barbesse district, jamming in all of the Paris clubs and marinating in a musical stew of Afro funk vibrations. Second, they encountered French producer Pierre Jaubert (aka 'Berjot'), who owned the Parisound recording studio and two rehearsal facilities, one of which he squired the band into with the admonishment to practice around the clock.... Their second album, Malik contained what would become their most galvanizing selection of all, 'Darkest Light.' Composed by guest guitarist Michael McEwan, the song is renowned for its haunting saxophone intro (sampled on Public Enemy's Bomb Squad-produced hyper interlude 'Show 'Em Whatcha Got' and Wreckx-n-Effect's double-platinum dance jam 'Rump Shaker,' produced by Teddy Riley, DJ Quik and a 16 year-old Pharrell Williams). Frank Abel added a secret ingredient to the magic bag (a precursor to the vocoder) -- a tube blown through a bag containing car horn parts into a keyboard for a funky gurgling effect. Also of note are the percussive 'Conga' (later included on the influential Ultimate Breaks And Beats compilation) and 'Raff' by Californian Leroy Gomez who'd contributed 'Hihache' to the previous LP. In addition to the remaining five body rockin' jams from Malik -- all penned by band members -- this special reissue includes two bonus tracks: 'Quick' (an outtake from the Malik sessions) and 'The Gap' (from Ice's Seven Americans In Paris LP)."
item # 33600
Jump to:
Search in ...
browse > # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z V/A