Tonevender Mailorder - 14 E University Ave. #206 / Gainesville, FL / 32601

item view

Exit Calm

We're On Our Own 7"

As guitar music seeps into a harangued watered down version of itself courtesy of vacuous copyists and insipid careerists, one name shines through like a sole beacon in the middle of a one-dimensional, smoggy sea.
EXIT CALM are Scott Pemberton (drums), Simon Lindley (bass), Rob Marshall (guitars) and Nicky Smith (vocals). To call them a breath of fresh air would merely be understating their value; quite simply they are the most exciting, invigorating and dare we say it, unique, guitar-based band to emerge from these shores in quite some time.
Having initially formed in the South Yorkshire town of Barnsley back in late 2006, Exit Calm spent the next eighteen months writing and honing their sound. Spring 2008 saw them release their first limted release, live favourite 'Higher Learning' on Club AC30 Records while their euphoric live shows have attracted spates of attention culminating in them being invited as main support on The Music's 'Strength In Numbers' UK tour in June 2008.
Comparisons to date have seen their mesmerising guitar eclipses likened to the early sounds of My Bloody Valentine , Ride, Spiritualized and the elaborate skyscraping voyages of Explosions In The Sky, while the captivating presence of front man Nicky Smith offers an intense aside to their brooding noise that renders them completely unforgettable once seen for the first time.
item # 30288
Jump to:
Search in ...
browse > # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z V/A