Tonevender Mailorder - 14 E University Ave. #206 / Gainesville, FL / 32601

item view


Monolith CD

"Monolith" is O.Lamm's third full-fledged album and first stateside release; a massive overleap since his widely acclaimed "Hello Spiral". When the latter was a monumental exercise in musical genres blurring and a spiral of psychedelic, offset electronic pop music, "Monolith" is its steel technoid counterpart, a missile shaped assemblage of sounds, beats and vocals to get spazzy on the dancefloor. Pass the overture and the manifest J-pop song "Genius Boy" and it's all beats, beats, breaks, beats, sneaky hooks and viciously overloaded electro funk, a Melvins riff replayed on a Gameboy, a tribute to Betty Davis and a Linn beatbox, an ominous pumpy techno English/Japanese lesson, softer moments, fiercer moments. Momus raps his ass off, Lullatone's Yoshimi Tomida sings the tones of major scale, the Konki Duet's Zoe Wolf and Nobuko Hori (Music Related) chill the blood, Midori Hirano (Noble) warms things up a labor of love and noise for deviant dancefloors, or to take a walk in Shibuya or Nakameguro on a hot Sunday afternoon. O.Lamm is an electronic artist from Paris, France. In the last six years, he has released several albums and EPs (mostly on Parisian outsider electro label Active Suspension), and has collaborate with varied talents from the realms of electronica, minimal techno, pop and free improvisation: dDamage (Planet-Mu), Sutekh (Context, etc.), Hypo, and Domotic (Active Suspension). He is also part of multidisciplinary outfits Labranisch (residences at Louvre, Mac/Val, etc) and Section Amour (residencies in Brussels, Amsterdam, etc.), and has toured in Russia, Japan, and Europe. SELLING POINT: Features guest vocals by Yoshimi Tomida from Lullatone and Momus, who has referred to O.Lamm as one of the reasons why he thinks "France is now the crucible and cradle of the most interesting electronica on the planet". PREVIOUS PRESS:_ "An explosive pop record littered with abstract grooves, obtuse harmonic elements and unusual song writing." - Lawrence English (Cyclic Defrost) "Truly impressive exercise in digital processing, but it also shows intense levels of emotions conveyed through vocal contributions and clever use of acoustic instrumentation and field recordings. -Milk Factory (UK) TRACK LISTING: 1. La Chasse Aux Oiseaux (with Yoshimi Tomida)
2.Genius Boy (with Kumi Okamoto)
3. The Macguffin
4.Open Malice (with Zo Wolf)
5.Return of the Night Goat
6.Tammy Metempsycho Darling
7.Syllabus of Errors (with Momus)
8.Silviphobia/O Meu Sonho Geometrico (with Midori Hirano)
10.ブリングザノイズ! (bring the noise)
11.Electric Emily (with Nobuko Hori)
12.City of Julie (with Cindy Lee).
item # 24895
Jump to:
Search in ...
browse > # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z V/A